Ninth One’s a Doozy

A week from tomorrow, I will face my ninth surgery. You’d think I’d have this down by now, but this one is going to be a doozy. I’ve had almost two years to consider many options. I put a lot of thought into deciding which surgery would best repair the damage done by cancer, surgeries, infection, radiation, and lymphedema. I consulted three plastic surgeons (and Dr. Google). The main motivator in this decision has been the lymphedema. It has been increasingly difficult to control the swelling in my arm despite all my efforts. I have to try to slow the progression of this incurable condition in my dominant (read-Throttle) arm.

Because of the lymphedema, I have decided to work with Dr. Chang at the University of Chicago. He was an early pioneer of Lymph Node Transfer procedures in the US. I had a consultation with Dr Chang in May. At that time, he told me that my best chances for successfully controlling the lymphedema would be to undergo a DIEP Flap breast reconstruction with lymph node transfer. This option will also require a second surgery, which will fine-tune the reconstruction and possibly require a lymphaticovenular bypass surgery in my arm, which will re-route blocked lymph vessels into veins where the blood flow will carry trapped fluid out of my arm.

Here’s how Wikipedia defines it, “DIEP Flap surgery is a type of breast reconstruction in which blood vessels called deep inferior epigastric perforators (DIEP), as well as the skin and fat connected to them, are removed from the lower abdomen and transferred to the chest to reconstruct a breast after mastectomy.” In layman’s terms, they will cut me hip to hip along the “bikini” line (though my bikini days are best left in the 90s) and use that tissue to make a boob. The added bonus is that, while my abdomen is flayed open, Dr. Chang can harvest the underutilized lymph nodes that he locates in my abdomen and transfer them into my armpit where I lost lymph nodes to cancer, causing the lymphedema. The goal is that the transplanted nodes will start to function in their new location to help filter lymphatic fluid out of my arm. It’s pretty fascinating stuff. I am thrilled at the chance to repair the damage.

They say a picture’s worth a thousand words, but I thought I’d spare you the gore and let you get a visual from this lovely graphic. If you want to seek out the gore on your own, I encourage you to google “DIEP Flap.”

diep-flap

I am scheduled for surgery on January 6th. I had originally tried to get scheduled for November so I could be well on the way to recovery (and my new career-more on that later!) by the New Year. But, by the time I called to schedule in August, Dr. Chang was already fully booked for 2016. I can’t say that I’m surprised. He is one of the first doctors in the US to do lymph node transfer, and the only one in the midwest. It’s probably for the best anyway. The timing worked out alright because I had every excuse to eat everything in sight over the holidays. My motto became, “I’m growing a boob”, as I worked to gain belly fat. How often does one get the chance to want to gain belly fat, after all?!!

So, I’m fattened up and trying to mentally prepare myself for the difficult recovery I will face in January and February. Andy booked a condo a couple of blocks from the hospital in Chicago for just over a week on VRBO (vacation rentals by owner.) With a name like that, I jokingly tease him that this can be our ‘second honeymoon.’ Our One Year Wedding Anniversary is on January 1st!!! Our first honeymoon included dragging my kids along as we traipsed around North America. He believes that I still owe him a honeymoon. For some reason, though, he feels that renting a condo in Chicago in January for recovery from surgery is also less than romantic. Huh? I guess I’ll just have to keep trying every year until I get the honeymoon thing right. My goal=perpetual honeymoon….

I keep recalling the quote that “it takes a village.” So, here I am, calling on my village. I am going to face 12 hours or more on the operating table, 5 nights in the hospital, another 3 nights in our “vacation rental” so that I will be in Chicago for my one week follow-up appointment, and a solid 6-8 weeks to recover. I am going to need help. Mainly, I am going to need help with my kids. I’m calling on my village to check in on my kids while I am out of town. I’m calling on my village to help me back on my feet. I’m calling on my village, people. (I just like saying that-it conjures up a mental image of the Village People, and I’m not even on pain pills yet.)

 

6 thoughts on “Ninth One’s a Doozy

  1. We will be praying for you and put you back on the prayer list at church.  Take care. Love,Aunt Marian

    From: 1knightsjourney To: mmspeerless@centurytel.net Sent: Thursday, December 29, 2016 9:44 AM Subject: [New post] Ninth One’s a Doozy #yiv4826285662 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv4826285662 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv4826285662 a.yiv4826285662primaryactionlink:link, #yiv4826285662 a.yiv4826285662primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv4826285662 a.yiv4826285662primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv4826285662 a.yiv4826285662primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv4826285662 WordPress.com | 1knightsjourney posted: “A week from tomorrow, I will face my ninth surgery. You’d think I’d have this down by now, but this one is going to be a doozy. I’ve had almost two years to consider many options. I put a lot of thought into deciding which surgery would best repair the da” | |

  2. Too far away to offer anything but virtual hugs, but we’ll both be sending those! Hope to see you fully recovered at an HU meeting sometime this year. Love, Susan & Grant

Leave a Reply

