Living with NED, Marrying Pain

Time flies. Thank goodness, because I don’t like the alternative. I just realized that I have not updated my blog in a long time. I had not intended to stop writing altogether. Rather, my focus has been on starting a new chapter in my life, closing the book on the impact that cancer had in my life. Cancer treatment, for me, is becoming a fading memory. Lessons have been learned. Changes have been made. Priorities have re-ordered themselves.

Part of being a cancer survivor involves the fear that the cancer will come back. Each new pain or symptom is cause for more tests. This fall has been filled with tests for me, ranging from a lumbar puncture, brain MRI, cervical spine MRI, and a colonoscopy. It has also been an emotional fall filled with the struggles of friends enduring the setbacks and recurrences of cancer.

One thing I’ve learned along the way is that there is no point in stressing about the tests until all the results are in. A quote from the movie, “Bridge of Spies” resonates with me. The attorney often asked the man suspected of being a spy if he was worried. The man always calmly stated, “would it help?” Nope. Worrying doesn’t help and stress is bad. My goal is to get passed the fear to get to what’s good and positive in life.

I’m happy to say that, after all the test results are in, I am still living with NED (No Evidence of Disease). I love it, and plan to keep NED around for a good, long time.

So many positive things have happened for me over the summer. I am so thankful for the opportunity to slow down and savor the positive. I spent a great deal of time re-claiming my health with the amazing women who are Team Phoenix, culminating in my first Sprint Triathlon, and lifelong friendships. I also purchase a beautiful home with my boyfriend. We had time at the lake, camping trips, motorcycle rides. I’m feeling great and looking forward to many more adventures with my family.

I am also happy to announce that I will be marrying Andy Pain, my partner in all things, on January 1st, 2016. This makes me so happy. Andy has been with me through the best and worst moments of my life, with never-ending love and support, adventure (and kitten videos). I can’t imagine a better person to spend my life with.  I can’t imagine a better way to ring in the New Year than, “Living with NED, Marrying Pain”.

Suzandy

2 thoughts on “Living with NED, Marrying Pain

Leave a Reply

