The Waiting Game

2014-07-11 16.52.38

Over the weekend, I did what I could to rest and give my body the chance to fight the infection. My right arm, which felt like it’d been through a meat pulverizer, became increasingly swollen and very sore, further limiting my range of motion. I developed a strange ridge just above my elbow that was extremely tender and I wondered if it was a blood clot (but Andy told me it wasn’t). I also feared lymphedema, which is a buildup of lymph fluid that causes swelling of the arm. I kept up with the heat and ibuprofen to ease the cording pain, and waited until Monday, when I would follow up with the nurse and the physical therapist.

2015-01-24 15.07.24

The first thing I wanted an answer to was what the strange and painful lump in my arm was. The nurse told me that it was not a blood clot, but she was at a loss for what it was. We went on to talk about what the plastic surgeon was recommending, and she measured the red area to see if the antibiotics were resolving the infection. It was smaller, but still pretty red. She said that the radiation fibrosis was making my skin so tight over the implant that I wasn’t getting enough blood flow to the area to promote healing. In healthy skin, they could simply remove the damaged area, and sew it back up to heal, but this wasn’t an option for me because my damaged skin wouldn’t be able to handle being pulled back together and, with limited blood flow, would struggle to heal. She said, because of my age, she felt it would be worth it to do the more involved reconstruction, rather than to remove the implant and have to deal with a prosthesis long term.

Next, it was back up to physical therapy, where my therapist introduced me to another patient who had also sustained nerve damage in her arm during surgery, and was also dealing with celulitis. We started chatting and comparing notes, when I looked up and saw Leslie, my PT, talking to Dr. Tjoe, my surgical oncologist. I haven’t seen Dr. Tjoe since last spring. Happy to see her, I waved, and then I realized she was there to check on me, as she motioned for me to join them.  She said she had been following my notes from the plastic surgeon and her nurse, and wanted to take a look for herself.

So, we went off to a room, along with Leslie and a resident, and they all started examining me and discussing my situation. I again told them about the swelling and cording, and the strange ridge on my arm. Leslie was the one who identified it as another manifestation of axillary web syndrome (cording), which made sense because the pain was the same as I’d had in the past, it just looked different.  Dr. Tjoe explained that the pain and swelling was a result of the infection.

I was so fortunate to have Dr. Tjoe there to look me over. She is a remarkable doctor and really takes the time to explain things and answer all of my questions. I told her that I was hoping to avoid additional surgery (mainly because I am ready to rebuild my strength and move on), but that I wasn’t so stubborn as to refuse surgery if all the doctors were telling me that surgery would be my best option for the long term.

She explained to me that my plastic surgeon is very proactive, and would prefer to do the surgery under controlled circumstances rather than wait until it became an emergency situation, where a raging infection could force him to remove the implant entirely, and not reconstruct. She also explained that, by taking healthy tissue and muscle from my back (LAT flap) or abdomen (TRAM flap), I would not have to struggle to fight the constant tightening and limitations that the radiation fibrosis is causing, and will continue to cause for years to come. She mentioned another colleague who does a newer variation on the surgery which does not involve cutting the abdominal muscles (DIEP Flap), which sounds better in my opinion. Then, she asked if she could take a picture of the area so she could consult with the second plastic surgeon.

Leslie started working on my cording, an extremely painful process, which involves pulling and stretching and massaging my arm to “release” the cords. It is torture, but it usually provides some relief. While working on me, Leslie got a phone call with further instructions from Dr. Tjoe. It reminded me of the game Telephone, where one person whispers something to the next person, and then each person whispers what they heard until the last person says it out loud, usually with a mixed up translation. I can’t say for sure that this message didn’t get mixed up along the way, but from what I got out of it, the second plastic surgeon told Dr. Tjoe who told her nurse, who told Leslie to tell me that he concurred with the opinion that my skin may not be capable of healing on its own. They suggested that I start researching my options more so that I will be ready to make a decision if need be. They recommended that I take a second course of the antibiotic to keep the infection at bay, and I was told to schedule another follow up with the nurse, and to continue to work with Leslie.

My daily trips to the hospital continue this week, as we wait and see.

One thought on “The Waiting Game

Leave a Reply

