Now What?

I realize that it has been nearly two months since I updated my blog. Don’t worry. I am still here. I still have a lot on my mind, and have been meaning to write, but the urgency to write which I felt before has let up some. In the thick of things this past year, I felt a strong pull to put my thoughts to paper. Writing was the only way to sort out the complex jumble of thoughts and fears, and dig for some sense of peace with what I was going through. Now, as I continue to move forward, I don’t feel the same pressing sense of urgency to put my thoughts to paper, so maybe you’ll hear less from me. Maybe….

The completion of radiation in the end of September marked the end of active treatment against cancer for me. For 10 months, this vigorous battle dominated nearly every aspect of my life. The abrupt change from constant doctor’s appointments, major side effects, and a underlying, ever-present focus on whipping cancer, to a return to… “normal” life, left me thinking, “now what?” Where do I go from here? So much has changed.

The important things in life are that much more important now. The unimportant things in life are that much more unimportant now. Facing fears, and pain, and setbacks seems to be a regular part of every day, yet I have new goals. Some are previous goals that have been neglected. Some are new goals. Life is too precious, and there are no guarantees that I’ll be around long enough, to put off the hopes and dreams I have for my life. What all of this means, I am not sure. But I am excited to find out. Excited to move forward.

Though I sometimes feel manic excitement to jump head first into this new chapter, waste not a single moment, I also realize that it will take time. I don’t have the strength or the energy that I used to have. I see glimpses of my old strength at times, but only glimpses. It seems that I can’t complete the tasks that I set for myself in the time I think I should be able to complete them. It frustrates me. I don’t have time for the patience of my younger self. I know that I need to learn, for now, to take on less, slow down, do things at a reasonable pace. Balance.

I have one more major hurdle to clear on this journey. Two weeks from today, I will be undergoing reconstruction surgery, along with the removal of my chemo port. I look forward to getting it done, or, rather, to getting it over with. In fact, I pushed the doctor to let me do it before the end of the year because I want this chapter to close with the end of 2014.  I am not looking forward to another surgery, another recovery, another pause from the things I want to be able to do.  I can say one thing with certainty, though – look out 2015! This New Year has new meaning and I am going to come on strong!

5 thoughts on “Now What?

  1. It’s good to hear so much strength and energy in your voice, Sue. The physical energy will follow soon. So much you have accomplished and so much you will in 2015 and beyond. All the best to you!

Leave a Reply

