Port Support

I am sitting in my quiet house, remembering a special moment with a smile on my face, so I thought I would share this happy moment. Prior to my first round of chemo, I had an appointment to meet with the radiation oncologist. The wait was especially long that day, and I was nervously anticipating my first experience with chemo which was scheduled immediately after this appointment. Finally, it was my turn to head to the exam room with the nurse. We went through a long list of questions, and then it was time to get a gown on and wait for the doctor. As the nurse was leaving, I decided to show her the love notes that my kids had drawn on my skin surrounding the port where the drugs would be infused. That morning, I had asked them to write something there for me. It was my attempt to ease some of the fears they were having about their mom heading off for chemo. I told them it was “port support”. The nurse said she’d never seen anyone come in with love notes written on them before. She told me that there are special things that she sees only occasionally. Things that will forever remain in her memory. This was one of those things she said she would never forget. She was so moved that she nearly came to tears, and gave me a great, big huge. I left the appointment with such a warm, happy feeling.

Can you guess which of my creative, artistic kids wrapped the love all the way around my back?

port support

Love notes surrounding my port

port support

2 thoughts on “Port Support

  1. I felt like a total weirdo seaching up “chemo port” tagged posts, but I’m so glad I came across yours! That is a really adorable and special way to handle having a port. I certainly have never had anyone write sweet things on mine!
    I did see once, a woman would draw pictures using her port…imagine santa claus with a port as his belly lol…hope you are doing well!

Leave a Reply

