Bad Breaks, Set Backs, and Side Effects

That feeling of well-being that I had on Sunday morning, when the sun was rising beautifully and the birds were singing, and I momentarily felt like all was right with the world, was short lived. By Sunday afternoon, a whole new set of side effects hit me and I was right back to feeling awful. I’ll spare the details, but Sunday night was one rough night. Somehow, Monday morning I managed to wake the kids up for school. I shouted occasional commands from bed now and then to make sure they were actually getting themselves ready for school, and, miraculously, they got out the door on time. Thankfully, my wonderful next door neighbor drove them to school all week while I was down and out, and my other friends took turns shuffling them to various after school activities. I simply would not have been able to do it.

Monday afternoon I was scheduled for physical therapy. I debated about canceling, but I decided that sometimes just the act of getting out of the house and walking around in fresh air can help. I am glad I did. I definitely felt better walking out than I did walking in. Afterwards, I checked in at the Vince Lombardi Cancer Clinic to let them know how I was feeling. This was another good decision. They drew blood and found that my white blood cell count was 0. They set me up with an IV so I could rehydrate. I managed to pick the kids up on my way home. Then I collapsed on the couch. Luckily, I had a friend with me who handled groceries, laundry and dinner preparations.

Monday and Tuesday were definitely low points. I was so sick, weak and dehydrated that I could barely handle the walk from the bed to the couch and back to bed. I had to force myself to eat and was encouraged (repeatedly) to keep drinking water and gatorade. I slept a lot.

Wednesday, feeling a little better, I called and scheduled to see the oncologist. She walked into the exam room with the list of symptoms I’d been having, and said, “well, looks like you have all the side effects”. She was apologetic because, prior to chemo, she had pretty emphatically assured me that many patients don’t have any side effects, and that she would do everything possible to preemptively counter any side effects. She then went on to say that we could change up the regimen, but in her experience the best survivorship is with the current regimen. So, needless to say, I’ll have what they’re having….

We determined that it may have been a mistake to stop the steroids early (because I wasn’t sleeping). That could be the reason I experienced so many side effects. Learning from round one, we can tackle round two with this knowledge and do a couple things differently to, hopefully, make it smoother. I’ll keep up with the steroids, but add sleeping pills so I can get my beauty rest. I will get additional IV fluids for a couple of days following chemo, and I’ll stay ahead of the anti-nausea drugs. Other than that, now I know what to expect. I can do it. I know now that I will need to take offers of help from my friends the week of April 8th for round two.

Today is Thursday and, like the gloomy, cold rain outside my window, it is unpleasant. But rain, sometimes gloomy and unpleasant, is also a necessary part of any spring. The rain is here to wash away the dirt and grime of a difficult season.

rainy day

One thought on “Bad Breaks, Set Backs, and Side Effects

  1. As you told your story I heard your voice. You are strong and determined surrounded by love family and hope. The rain makes it easier to accept how you feel…the sun will shine when you are shining again.
    Hugs

Leave a Reply

