test, scan, poke, prod

After hearing the words “breast cancer” late on a Friday afternoon at the end of January, I spent a long weekend with thoughts racing around in my head.  Surely, I can’t handle one more challenge. I’ve had enough!  2014 was going to be my year to fly.  By far, the hardest first step of this journey has been the waiting; sleepless nights with my wild imagination getting away from me.  I’ve had to remind myself to pause, wait for the facts, don’t let the emotions get me.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had my breakdowns in dealing with the news of my breast cancer.  It gets overwhelming at times, but I have to remind myself that this is one of those journeys best taken one step at a time.  Looking too far ahead is an unnecessary burden.  Tons of tests and scans, pokes and prods took place over the past two weeks.  A dizzying number of appointments, in fact.  Results are coming in and decisions need to be made.  The bone scan, which revealed suspicious spots, necessitated a PET scan. Another Friday test, and another long weekend full of fears of metastasized cancer invaded my overactive brain.  Monday’s call brought good news and one small victory.  No additional malignancies were found on any of the scans!

I am finding myself in an odd sort of time warp.  It is all happening really fast, yet time is barely creeping along.  There is so much to think about, yet not much time to process it all.  I am ready to move forward towards my cure, whatever that entails.  The goal is simple – get the C word out of my life so I can get back to living it.  I have so many wonderful adventures on my horizon, and I can’t wait to get on with it.

I am thankful for all of the love and support flooding in from my family and friends.  And margaritas; margaritas help…

One thought on “test, scan, poke, prod

Leave a Reply

